Reviews

5th -19th Jan 2019

Caroline your house is awesome, as are you. We have had a wonderfully restful time in your house – we are truly awed by it. We will take many of your design ideas away with us and hopefully incorporate some of them in our home in Cyprus. Thank you for allowing us to stay at Rest on the Hill. We like to leave a place as we found it but I can’t possibly replicate your delicious jam sandwich cake!

Thanks again and we hope to return again in the future.

Chris and Arthur

Cyprus

2nd-5th January 2019

We have thoroughly enjoyed our break at Rest on the Hill. We are currently doing some renovations on our own home and we have been inspired by the attention to detail and luxurious feel of this house.

Caroline, your house is fantastic and we particularly enjoyed the amazing views. Thank you so much for the delicious home-made butterfly cakes waiting for us on arrival and the bottle of bubbly.

We would dearly love to come again and hope to sometime in the future.

Pamela, Robert, Emily, William and Helena plus Pip.

5th-10th Dec 2018

Thank you Caroline. I think this must be the best place we have ever stayed and we have been to quite a few. Its certainly a WOW factor, the views are amazing and such a relaxing feel to the place. The bed was really comfy, best nights sleep I’ve had in a long time. Also we were made really welcome by a fantastic host. Nothing was too much trouble and very helpful. Will definitely be returning.

Thanks again

Paula and Wes

Barnsley

10th – 16th Nov 2018

We have thoroughly enjoyed our six night stay at your exceptional house. We were excited ahead of arrival and the architecture, attention to detail and of course location has been second to none.

We used Rest on the Hill as a base and explored Llandudno, Conway, Bala lake and Barmouth Bay – all lovely places to visit and spend time at.

More locally we visited Llangollen, the Pontycyllte aquaduct and neighbouring Chirk aqueduct – the steak pie at the Telford Inn at Froncycyllte was amazing!

The Barley Mow, Trefonen was great for a Sunday roast and Lepoines in Oswestry was very nice or an evening meal.

Certainly hope to come back to this part of the world and the Rest on the Hill in particular, in the future. Thanks for a great stay.

Keith and Teresa.

Bedford

3rd-8th Nov 2018

This is our second stay at Rest on the Hill and it’s been every bit as enjoyable as the first. A perfect sanctuary to relax, take in the fabulous views and generally do as little or as much as you like. Thanks again for the bubbly and the lovely cake which has soon been quaffed and scoffed!

In terms of getting out and about we would recommend The Keys at St Martins and The Hand at Llanarmon as very nice places to eat. Lovely drives through Autumn colours.

I am sure we will be back for our third stay at some point in the future.

Spencer and Sue

29th Oct – 1st Nov 2018

The idyllic Rest on the Hill has been a truly memorable break. The panoramic views of the countryside took our breath away from the moment we pulled onto the drive and the everchanging landscape remained as beautiful as the days passed by. We spent many an hour just admiring the view! On clear nights we looked forward to seeing the sky illuminated by thousands of enchanting stars. The attention to detail inside the property such as the champagne, scones and robes made for the perfect accommodation to explore the countryside and then retreat to a place of luxury and comfort. This stay of outstanding beauty, discovery and relaxation will stay with us forever! We look forward to returning.

Luke and Susan,

Cannock

25-28th Oct 2018

What can we say that has not already been said? By far the most luxurious pad we have stayed in, with everything provided.

With the most spectacular views and the ever changing sky our time here has passed too quickly.

Thank you for sharing with us.

The Smith family and Rosie the Labrador.

Essex

14-20 Oct 2018

Our stay in a little piece of heaven. It still does not fail to wow us when we step in through the front door.

A belated 25th wedding anniversary celebration trip to ourselves, and as usual leaving us feeling so relaxed. Weather has been amazing and we have enjoyed our walks with our Jack Russell Sally – her first visit and no doubt not her last!

Thank you for the champagne and cake – yummy! As usual the perfect host and we look forward to our next visit.

Debra, Crawford and Sally

6-13 Oct 2018

WOW!

An amazing house in a beautiful location. A different view every morning with the constantly changing light. Good for the photography.

And the weather did us proud – until the Friday and Saturday when it rained – and did it rain!

Caroline, thanks again – we hope to come up this way again.

John and Daphne

Harlow, Essex

3-5th Oct 2018

Architecture, scenery AND CAKE!

What a lovely way to Rest on this hill!

We loved it

Graham and Ida,

Somerset

28th Sept – 1st Oct 2018

Thank you for a beautiful stay and for taking such good care of us. The views are, as everyone says, stunning!

Thank you

Gigi and family

 

23-27th Sept 2018

Rest on the Hill has provided a perfect location for a much needed family getaway. This is a really beautiful well thought out house in one of the most fabulous parts of the British Isles.

Caroline is a really thoughtful host who obviously cares enormously for your guests experience. We would certainly recommend a stay and will likely (very likely) be back for another stay of our own.

Thank you,

Jonny, Libby and Eilidah

 

Sept 2-5 2018

We have been astounded by your extraordinary vision and the amazing creation of Rest on the Hill.

Surrounded by Mother Nature the house is an eco masterpiece of contemporary design, blending seamlessly with the landscape yet still retaining traditional values…boredom will never be an option here.

Thank you lovely lady for sharing.

Audrey and Wendy

August 26-29 2018

Back again after our stay in May! I just knew this would be the perfect place to celebrate and relax with my husband after finishing my Nursing degree. Again such a lovely welcome, greeted by fresh scones, jam and cream. The stunning views continue to take my breath away each morning. The house is just perfect, pure luxury and provides the ideal place to unwind, relax and ‘just be’ away from the hustle, bustle and distractions.

Loved our visits from Penny, she is the cutest! Until next time.

Bethan and Chris

August 18-25 2018

We’ve had a fantastic time here at Rest on the Hill – our second week here after staying a week in York.

The accommodation is ultimate luxury and you really have thought of everything.

We didn’t see much of the surrounding area as we preferred to stay at the house and relax.

Thank you again Caroline. We thoroughly enjoyed our week here.

David, Monique, Catlin, Amy and Mollie the Doodle,

The Netherlands

August 11-18 2018

Back again – third year in a row for the “last days of summer”. After a month of heat it is relaxing just to sit and watch the clouds roll by and feel the wind (and the odd shower too). We will certainly be back again in the years to come too.

…the hills are beyond words…and the house is as perfect as ever, out of space and time – a chance to recharge our batteries…So see you again soon!

Steve, Eva, Hazel (in spirit if not in person this time!) Liam.

July 21-28 2018

A truly ‘WOW’ house – not just the design, fixtures and fittings etc but the warm welcome from Caroline. A great start to our holiday – home made cake, fizz and fresh flowers….we felt thoroughly spoilt!

Beware, thanks to the regular visits from Penny and Ben you will leave wanting a four legged friend of your own! Our youngest, Jay, (normally a hard to please pre-teen) was quite taken with Penny!

Don’t miss the Old Fort in Oswestry and The Hand pub, Llanarmon. We felt thoroughrly rested and dreaded going back to work which is how it should be.

Amina, Alistair, Oliver and Jay.

 

July 13-20 2018

The house has far exceeded our expectations. It’s just fabulous.

We did a little bit of walking and enjoyed the Oswestry Food Festival, but our happiest times were spent on the terrace with a glass of wine just relaxing and taking in the fantastic view.

We also enjoyed our daily visits  from Penny and Ben who are just adorable.

Thank you Caroline for the beautiful flowers and delicious scones and bubbly – a lovely treat.

This has been a real break for us and we can’t wait to return.

Debbie, Gary & Bella Bichan

July 7-9 2018

We have loved our stay here. Such a relaxing and peaceful location for an amazing house. Obviously can’t forget the wonderful view.

Thanks for the bubbly, cake and flowers, you have thought of everything.

A very warm stay.

Thank you,

Leeann and Andy

July 3-6 2018

We have stayed in lots of places but nowhere as stunning as this property. The view is absolutely beautiful. Thank you so much for a wonderful few days.

Paul and Sharon, Telford

June 22-29 2018

Wow, what a work. Brilliant accommodation, brilliant weather, what more can you want!

Really relaxing week, reluctant to leave the stunning view. Thank you so much.

Lorraine and Karen.

June 15-22 2018

Stunning house and location. We were lucky enough to have three amazing sunsets. Thanks for the additional touches – these things all add up to an amazing holiday which will stay in our memories.

Thank you again,

Ian, Maggy, Monica and Roger, Norfolk and Kent.

June 1st – 5th 2018

A fantastic property in a beautiful location. We visited Oswestry, Shrewsbury, Lake Vernwy and the waterfall at Llanreaedre YM. The last two being highly recommended and worth the effort to drive there.

Caroline is such a lovely host and owner. We would definitely recommend Rest on the Hill  and would book again.

Vince, Allmin, Greg and Trudie. Aylesbury.

PS thank you for the thoughtful touches; cake, bubbly and coming to get us when we were ‘lost’!

26 May – 1st June 2018

Our 4th time here and still just as special. Would recommend the Hand pub at Llanarmon. Very dog friendly.

Walks this time: Lake Idwal near Capel Curig, The aquaduct at Trevor, Crosby beach near Liverpool and a trip to Anglesey.

Thank you for a fantastic stay again.

See you next time!

Jon and Jen, Brighton.

19-24th May 2018

Upon stepping through the front door the mesmerising view takes your breath away. This is a wonderful contemporary but homely property.

We have loved our stay here and have been blessed with wall to wall sunshine.

Thank you Caroline for the bubbly, cake and flowers but mostly for creating this beautiful house. We hope to return in the future to enjoy another peaceful and relaxing holiday. We’ll miss Penny and Ben visiting us for their daily treats.

Jean and Harry,

13-17th May 2018

It is a prefect house with fabulous views in a stunning location. It is great to see the sdtars at night and so peaceful.

You have thought of everything including flowers and cake and bubbles. It was great to see Penny and Ben everyday.

Thank you so much.

Gwen and Mac

12th May 2018

Thank you so much. What an amazing house you have here! We were breathless when we walked into this special place, (and the cake and bubbles of course)!

We came here for our wedding anniversary and break after recently submitting my dissertation for my nursing degree.

It is so serene and peaceful, pure relaxation!

We have loved our visits from Ben and Penny, they are super cute.

We have also been amazed by all the facilities and how everything has been thought of.

We’ll be back!

Bethan and Chris, David and Becky

28th April 2018

An elegant, inspirational house in one of the most mesmerising parts of the country. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

Caroline, Ian, Nick and Katie

12th April 2018

This house completely exceeded our expectations. We thought it looked good on the internet – and then we saw it for ourselves. What a beautiful place you have created, superbly appointed, and that view…However, it was your thoughtful touches which made it all the more special – fresh flowers, cake and bubbly all of which made us feel welcome and relaxed. A wonderful short break. We shall return!

Elaine, Martin, Sally and Martin,

Wolverhampton

7th April 2018

Stunning property in a great location. Exceeded our expectations. Absolutely everything has been thought of right down to the last details.

You should be very proud of what you have achieved Caroline.

Thanks for an amazing break.

Michael, Eanora,Daniel, Millie and Harley the dog

2nd April 2018

We have had the most wonderful stay in this dream house – it has been the most perfect setting to spend time with good friends, eat fab food and generally take a beak. We’ll be back without a doubt!

PS particularly enjoyed our visits from Ben and Penny the dogs!

Alex, Sara, Jim and Biffi

10th March 2018

Thank you so much for everything, our time here has been fabulous. We will return home so relaxed and rested.You have thought of everything to ensure that your guests have the best visit possible and so much more! We thought we would be out and about but found that we didn’t want to. We preferred to stay home.

You have a winning combination here and we will definitely be returning.

Andy and Mandy

Whitchurch

3rd March 2018

Thank you for letting us stay in your home. This place is AMAZING!

Had an awesome few days, enjoyed the snow topped hills and all the little surprises that came with a house like this.

SHE SAID YES!

Will be back for sure.

Luke and Robun

Northampton

11th February 2018

A truly stunning place and an incredible few days. We will most definitely be back and will forever hold that view in our memories.

Maxine and Gray.

6th January 2018

Thank you Caroline. We Loved our time at this beautiful place. That view! Staying here has been a fantastic way to celebrate my 30th birthday.

Matt and Lara

28th December 2017

We have really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful place. What stunning views, we have certainly relaxed into this wonderful home.

We would definitely come back.

Alex, Natalie, James, Caroline and Glyn plus Charlie dog.

 27th December 2017

We have all so enjoyed our Christmas here at Rest on the Hill, we feel so welcome and relaxed we’re really finding it hard to leave. Having travelled to many places around the world we are amazed to find such a stunning home on our doorstep.

‘Simply Perfect’, we will return!

Katia and Steve, Petya and Peter

Sutton Coldfield

26th November 2017

We were blown away with Rest on the Hill, the feeling of luxury, this high spec retreat has been just wonderful.

We arrived in the dark and were captivated with the view in the morning.We have spent hours watching the changing sky and light.

We have totally relaxed and so enjoyed this week. Thank you for the lemon cake and bubbles found in the fridge. The flowers were a lovely touch too.

You have a winning formula, a fabulous place, stunning views and great hospitality.

We very much hope to return.

Jill and Clive.

Kent.

31st October 2017

Thanks so much for a wonderful few days at Rest on the Hill – it’s been fabulous in every way – from all the facilities in the house to that incredible view – and the most comfortable bed I think we have ever slept in! We stopped on route to our wedding, and it’s given us the most restful few days before the big event! We will definitely be back.

Ben and Gareth, Isle of Man.

21st October 2017

It’s easy to run out of superlatives!

Simply magnificent views , ever changing light and cloud formations make you want to keep watching. How peaceful and tranquil and a world away from the busyness of normal life for us.

The Hand, Llanarmon has superb ambience and food.

Andy and Karen and Ziggy the dog.

8th October 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay. We have loved waking up to this view every morning. The slope of the ceiling drawing you out is a masterpiece. We have thoroughly enjoyed living the life of luxury and my head is now brimming with ideas for my own ‘Grand Design’! Thank you for the cake and flowers. We hope to visit again soon with friends.

Minnie and Peter,

London.

21st-24th September

What a wonderful place to do nothing in! After a difficult choice of bedrooms all we did was relax, abandon our walking plans and enjoy the house and the views. The view was a revelation, ever shifting colours and shapes. One morning the valley was filled with fog.

A lovely stay,

David and Roz.

Bristol

18-21st September

Thank you for letting us stay at Rest on the Hill. We are in awe of the interior and exterior. All so grandiose and beautiful. It is clear that a lot of hard work and planning has gone into creating this magnificent structure, right down to the finer details, furnishings and finishing touches. We hope to come back one day and enjoy the views once more and make the most of this experience. You couldn’t have picked a better location. The views are absolutely stunning.

Thank you again, we truly appreciate your hospitality.

Jake and Becky

7-10th September

Having just spent four weeks in Canada visiting family we looked at some exceptional homes with a view to living in Canada. However, after seeing your beautiful home I can say without prejudice that this designer home outclassed all the other beautiful homes we have visited. Not just the layout is but the homely feeling and features. The view is so relaxing and awesome.

Henry and Isabel,

Scotland.

3-6th September

Thank you so much for a beautiful stay. Thank you for the scones and bubbly too!

We had a wonderful time in your amazing house.

Sam and Libby

7-12th August

One year later, and this time even the weather is perfect! (well, almost, in a British sort of way….)

We will be back, time and time again I hope..

I have lived in the city all of my life

but in my heart there’s a country that is tangled and wild

I could live in the mountains – or I could live on the plains

Or in a place far too beautiful – too beautiful to name

(Susanna Ungerleider. Tangled and Wild)

Steve, Eva, Hazel and Liam

29th July – 5th August

Thanks for an amazing stay in your Rest on the Hill! You have created a beautiful house and we hope that you are going to enjoy it as much as we did.  We wish you all the best with the house and with the dogs Penny and Ben.

Thank you very much,

Danny, Beck, Lars and Dirk

Holland

22-29th July

We have holidayed in many fantastic houses over the years but Rest on the Hill is without doubt the best. We will never forget our first impressions when we entered the house and walked out onto the terrace-simply jaw dropping. What a house, what a view.

Although the weather has been a bit mixed we have had a nice restful time.

Malcolm and Anne,

Chelmsford.

14-21st July 2017

As Harry Potter fans we’d mark our stay as ‘Exceeds Expectations’. We needed a time of relaxing, refreshing and rest for our week away. This amazing house with it’s stunning views (and often changing skies) provided a place of beauty, calm and tranquillity. Perfect!

We appreciated the flowers, bubbly and victoria sandwich cake that greeted our arrival and were blown away by the first sight of ‘that view’.

Lovely to meet you Caroline plus of course Ben and Penny.

We take home lots of happy memories of our time here and the places we have visited (the aqueduct at Trevor and Lake Vernwy in particular).

Thank you,

Lynne and Penny     Warwickshire

10-14 July 2017

Thank you so much for letting us stay in the AMAZING HOUSE! We were all lost for words the second we walked through the front door. We couldn’t have asked for a better or more stunning house and location to spend our week.

Charlie has loved playing in the garden and teasing Penny! And we have loved having Ben coming up to visit us.  Thank you for the delicious cake and bubbly on arrival. It started off our holiday perfectly. We definitely hope to return in the future and would highly reccommend to everyone.

We are sad to be leaving but look forward to returning.

Thanks again!

Jane, Enzo, Dan, Lauren and Charlie the saluki.   Burton on Trent

26-30th June

Many thanks for sharing your beautiful house. We were lost for words as soon as we stepped inside and took in the wonderful view.

The house itself is exceptional and the interior has a truly luxurious feel.

The days were a little cloudy and damp but Rest on the Hill delights whatever the weather so it didn’t matter in the slightest.

The scones and bubbly were a lovely touch and a great start to our holiday.

We hope to return many times.

Georgina and John, Cheshire

21-24th June 2017

‘Grand Designs’ eat your heart out. Stunning property in a perfect location. You should definitely do a collage showing the plot when you first bought it through to completion.

We had a fabulous stay, thanks for the bubbly and cake; a lovely thoughtful touch.

Enjoyed breakfast with Ben though could n’t persuade Penny to join us. Thank you for sharing your wonderful creation. Will definitely see you again.

Dave, Amanda, Carole and Pauline.

16-19th June 2017

First stay and definitely not the last. Champagne and cake were both fantastic!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and providing the perfect setting for a weekend away.

Alice and Joe

9th-12th June 2017

Had a wonderful stay here for my wife’s 50th birthday. The champagne, cake,candles and card were a lovely touch. The peace and quiet, luxury and panoramic views were just what we needed and we can’t wait to come back to try the other bedroom!

Spencer and Sue

27th May – June 3rd

Words do not do this place justice. A beautiful location and the view is breathtakingly beautiful.

Thank you so much,

Hope to see you again soon

Janette and Chris

20th May – 25th 2017

Thank you very much for your excellent hospitality and an awesome home with a billion dollar/pound view! The sun was out in full force so we were truly blessed!

My parents and daughter love the house and wished that they could have stayed longer….

It’s okay, there’s always next time…

Andy and family

Singapore

13th May – 20th 2017

Thank you for a wonderful stay.The house is perfectly equipped, modern and comfortable. The view is outstanding. Can recommend a visit to Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall (35 mins) and the Old Hill Fort, Oswestry is good for walking the dog to be honest we stayed around the house more than we intended in order to make the most of the views and the fabulous sunsets. We could have easily stayed another week! Thank you Caroline for your warm hospitality. We will definitely recommend it and hope to come back.

Lynsey, Ashley, Margaret and Indy.

The Wirral.

6th – 13th May 2017

Rest on the Hill is what the word ‘WOW’ is meant for!

Caroline made us feel the house was ours though always there if we needed her – a special skill. Six days of sunshine too!

What a wonderful holiday, thank you so much Caroline

Penny and Mike,

West Sussex

Fantastic cake and bubbly too…………such a kind welcome.

1st-6th May 2017

A beautiful house in a stunning location. Every possible attention to details with everything needed for a perfect relaxing holiday.

Very friendly and welcoming reception party – Caroline and Penny dog!

Would love to return.

Joy, Rob and Florrie dog and Joyce

9-16 April 2017

Two years ago we had the privilege to be the first guests in your outstanding house. Now, I could just repeat what has been written already by all the other ones who got flashed by this amazing house.

Therefore I’d like to emphasise the great hospitality and warm welcome we got offered by Caroline – and Ben of course.

It is not a given to return to a house two years later and find everything as perfect as the first time so a big Thank You goes to Caroline for all the effort behind the scenery to make this happen.

G,E,L&M Baveria, Germany

2-5 April 2017

Again – another stay. Plenty of walks, chilling out doing little. Now back to Essex (what a difference).

W&D

26 March – 2nd April 2017

Thank you Caroline, for sharing Rest on the Hill – a special place with stunning views.

S,D & J

23-26 March 2017

Our second visit to the house and everything is as enjoyable as our first – made even better by the glorious weather we had.

Managed to visit Lake Vernwy this time which is thoroughly recommended and then the British Ironworks Museum which is not as boring as it’s name suggests!

Thank you again for your hospitality. We are already looking forward to visit no. three.

T,M & M, Northampshire

17-20 March 2017

What a fabulous three days. We WILL be back. Our dog loved it too! Just what our family needed. Nothing to say, only Fabulous.

D, B, S&S

New Year 2017

The house, location and above all the views are stunning and I am sure we will return. Much more to explore than four days allowed. Thank you for your hospitality – we look forward to returning.

G, A & S

27th December 2016

We visited to celebrate out first wedding anniversary and what a wonderful place it is to relax and just be!

It is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and we will hopefully be coming back again.

T & J

11th December ‘2016

WE GOT ENGAGED!!

Thank you for providing the most perfect backdrop to the most wonderful proposal I could have asked for. Your cupcakes, champagne and general calming of Shaneils nerves will never be forgotten!

This home is the best place I have ever meditated in and I look forward to visiting again.

Thank you again for accommodating us during our special time – your attention to detail is magnificent!

All our love to Penny, Ben and the sheep!

K & S

17th Nov. ’16

This has been our 3rd visit to Rest on the Hill and it still feels such a privilege to be here. I can no longer walk in the hills but at Rest on the Hill I am in them and treasure soaking their beauty up in sheer luxury.

We thank you Caroline for all that you put into this amazing place and making our stay so lovely. A real rest and with cake, coffee and bubbly!

P & J

28 Oct – 3 Nov ’16

“There is something fascinating about staying in a place that looks like it should have been a film set, a painting or a piece of art.”

When we first arrived we were presented with this unique house. Also we were over whelmed by the breath taking views. It rendered us speechless!

If you can tear yourself away from the magnificent views to explore the house – which is very unique in it’s design with everything you can wish for. It is very spacious and has all the mod cons. The rainfall shower is exquisite, the bed a true delight to sleep in.

Caroline is a very gracious host and the victoria sponge she baked was delicious. Caroline is on hand if needed but very discreet if not. “The Perfect Host” – thank you Caroline, for sharing your magnificent house with us!

We have been to some very unusual and stunning places and have to say, without a doubt, that Rest on the Hill is now at the top of our list even as we arrived, and now when, very sadly, we have to leave. We are already planning to fit in our next visit!

“Never waste any amount of time doing  important things when you can take in these magnificent views from dawn to dusk.”

It has been a pleasure, see you soon.

C & S

10-16 October ’16

Caroline,

This week has been truly incredible. The time away was actually booked as a complete surprise by my husband to celebrate me turning 30!!

This was an extra special holiday for us as we came away with another couple who are good friends of ours. This will be the last holiday we go on before we all become parents for the first time in March.

The view, the location, the property and all the extra touches of detail have been simply phenomenal! We were all shocked at how beautiful everything is and how nothing has been spared, down to the utensils in the kitchen.

Gorgeous decor and an amazing homely feel throughout. We will certainly be back!

L, A, D & R, Manchester

9th October ’16

Cannot express how grateful we both are for the wonderful stay we’ve had at Rest on the Hill.

I cannot think of a time I have stayed somewhere quite so stunning, inside and out. So well provisioned and welcoming.

We really have truly had a restful escape.

Our thanks

S & G, Derbyshire

25th September ’16

WOW, WOW,WOW!

A prefect house, a fabulous view, a gloriously peaceful setting and another WOW for the perfect hostess who has thought of everything.

Rest on the Hill lives up to its name. We have had a fantastically peaceful relaxing time.

Thank you,

S & E, Ross on Wye.

15th September ’16

FANTASTIC!

What a fabulous house, location, view and facilities. This ‘rest on the hill’ was perfect to celebrate a birthday.

A trip into Oswestry was very nice and we recommend a visit to The Curious Tearoom. Very quirky inside.

A walk to the top of the hill in the distance was hard work but very rewarding looking at the house from there.

Definitely worth a return visit.

Thank you,

A , K & Bow, T & S

2nd September ’16

“I see skies of blue, clouds of white – the bright blessed day and the dark sacred night – and I think to myself…”

‘Rest on the Hill’ is simply prefect – an architectural masterpiece, beautifully furnished, luxuriously equipped and spaciously designed – with every detail contributing to the way in which the house lives up to its name: as soon as you walk through the door it is clear that the breathtaking view will take you ‘some  place else’….that all you need to do is sit and…and look…to watch the clouds rolling by over the hills across  the border. The house is slightly overwhelming at first, but the space and clarity are the exclamation mark missing from the name on the gate! Rest on the Hill!

This has really been a week “away from it all” and a return home in more ways than one – a rest on the hill that offers the perfect view of the Welsh hills of my childhood…I am sure we will be back for more in the years to come.

S,E,H and L. Regensburg, Baveria

27th August ’16

 

We have read every review in the book and can only stress what has already been written.

This is an outstanding property in an outstanding location. We have had a wonderful five days here and it is one of the very best places we have stayed. Fabulous views and scenery. Quiet and peaceful and relaxing. Everything you can think of has been provided in the property and the attention to detail is second to none.

Oswestry/Shropshire has a lot to offer, there is plenty to do and it is great walking territory.

WE WILL BE BACK, already checking dates for 2017.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience,

S,L,E and E. Burnley, Lancs

18th August ’16

Our second time here and it’s as amazing as we remembered! This time we brought friends and spent our days walking the dogs in Snowdonia. Just fantastic! We even managed to get an Indian take away delivered to the house – no mean feat!

This place is so nice it genuinely feels like our holiday home.

We will be back!

Thanks again Caroline,

J

6th August ’16

A wonderful house with an incredible view. Clean, comfortable, everything provided. Sadly the usual weather but we can’t book that!

Thank you for the dog walk Caroline. Misty has made a new friend and was looking for Ben when you were away!

All the best the G family

15th July ’16

The view took our breath away when we arrived and everyday after that!

Perfect stay, the house has EVERYTHING covered! We didn’t want for anything.

Thank you for making us so welcome, M, B & G

2nd July ’16

Another great and much needed visit. Looking forward to next time already!

Thanks Caroline, P & J

25th June ’16

‘Rest on the Hill’ certainly lives up to it’s name! We have had a very restful time here – managed to re charge our batteries in such a short time. The house and it’s views are amazing and great to see all the ‘eco’ functions incorporated into it.

Our visit was over the Glastonbury weekend – we had a great time listening to the music and watching it on the big screen – we managed to soak up the atmosphere without the mud!!

Thank you Caroline for sharing this piece of bliss – your scones and bubbly were most welcome.

Look forward to seeing you again, D & C, Bucks.

2nd June ’16

Didn’t realise I could relax so quickly. Lovely place, lovely walks – stunned at how I managed the steep hills!

Lovely welcome from Caroline. Just superb!

Many thanks W & D

27th May ’16

Thank you so much for having us! Rest on the Hill is absolutely beautiful – stunning views and so well equipped. The weather has been perfect and we have loved spending time on the terrace soaking up the sunshine.

It was tempting not to move all weekend but we enjoyed Lake Vernwy in the sun and walking over the aqueduct at Trevor.

This is an amazing house for a long weekend (or ideally longer) and you have been a fantastic host – thank you for having us (and for the scones!) We will recommend to everyone.

See you again, K,O,A and L, Manchester

 

8th May ’16

We’ve had such a great week! The house is beautiful-so comfortable and relaxing. The views are amazing!

Enjoyed sitting outside for breakfast every morning – very peaceful.

Had a great day out in Llangollen. The horse drawn canal boat ride was something different to do. Enjoyed eating at the Corn Mill, Llangollen.

Thanks for all your help and advice. You made our stay so memorable. We will definitely recommend ‘Rest on the Hill’ to our friends and family. We hope to return too!

A,M and N.   Cumberland, Scotland.

April 15th ’16

GREAT BREAK    GREAT HOME FEEL,    GREAT VIEWS,    GREAT HOUSE,    GREAT PEOPLE!

Thank you!

M, Brighton

2nd April ’16

This house is so lovely, the views are breath-taking and an amazing location. We loved taking the dogs on a walk, Dan loves Ben! (Caroline’s labrador). Everyday we went on walks in the countryside. Yesterday we went to Lake Vernwy and earlier in the week we walked up to the summit of Mount Snowdon which was incredible. Three times we also went swimming at the Oswestry leisure centre. We hope to come back again in the summer.

J,J,K and D.

28th March ’16

We are all sad to be leaving here today – but unfortunately work beckons. So much more we wanted to do so will definitely be back (hopefully for longer). Thoroughly recommend the horse drawn barges in Llangollen and Lepones Italian restaurant in Oswestry to anyone who stays here.

Thank you for making our short break a thoroughly enjoyable one in every way.

T,M,M and C

24th March ’16

Lovely location, Great house, Amazing view!

Fantastic Easter break with the dogs. A real home from home. Love that you have a milk frother – one of my essentials! Found some great local walks on wwwoswestryramblers.org.uk – there is a pdf you can download.

Loved sitting and gazing out of the glass wall – hard to do anything else! Loved our stay – we will be back and we will spread the word (a little)!

Many thanks

J & J

16th March ’16

We arrived late on Wednesday evening and whilst I knew from the pictures on the website that we were staying somewhere nice, I didn’t realise how amazing Rest on the Hill would be in reality. As soon as we walked in the door we were blown away by the space and could not quite believe that this was our home for four days! I walked around all the rooms in amazement and felt like a footballer’s wife in the open plan kitchen dining room! The place is immaculate.  Caroline had left us with a bottle of bubbles and fresh scones with clotted cream and jam; which was a lovely touch (thank you Caroline). We saved the bubbles for my birthday the next day, but enjoyed a midnight scone treat with a cuppa after we’d unpacked the car.

 

Caroline has thought of pretty much everything. Literally. I would never have expected to find an electric toothbrush charger in the bathrooms, for example. The kitchen was very well equipped with utensils, pots, cake pans, cutlery, napkins, place mats, champagne glasses, wine glasses, etc, etc. There was a separate study/living room with desk and books, and a house toilet! As we were just two, we didn’t use either, but it was nice to have them! There is a delightful laundry room with washer and dryer and it (almost) made me wish I’d brought all my dirty washing to do!  The house is ideal for a stay of any length due to how well-equipped it is.  I don’t travel light (even for a couple of days) so was delighted to have a walk in dressing area and loads of hangers for clothes.

 

It was a great idea to arrive in the dark and wake on my birthday to the view that makes Rest on the Hill that little bit special!  The view was simply stunning; even though, for the majority of our time, we experienced grey cloud! Every morning I walked into the kitchen and was amazed by the view that surrounded us! We were lucky to have one evening of sunshine and a spectacular sunset. We enjoyed our bubbles and some nibbles whilst sat on the balcony! Just a perfect end to my birthday. 

 

The location of Rest on the Hill is great.  Whilst you get the impression you are in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by hills (which you are), you are only a short drive from Oswestry where you can find all that you need to keep you going.  There’s a great M&S Simply Food and Aldi and a good Sainsbury’s in Oswestry.  There is also a fantastic-looking butcher in the town centre.  We didn’t buy from there as we had stocked up at the ‘Battlefield 1403 Farm Shop’ just outside of Shrewsbury (which I can recommend if you are into that sort of thing) when we visited the town the one day.  We had grand plans of eating out and frequenting some of the places recommended by Caroline, however, in the end we didn’t want to leave the house and enjoyed mini dinner parties every night at ‘home’!  We did visit the Stonehouse Brewery (microbrewery not far from the house), which was small but extremely popular with locals and worth a visit if you are into your real ales (they were serving wood-fired pizzas on the Friday evening when we were there which looked good).  I also treated myself to a full body massage and facial and used the beauty therapist recommended on the house’s website (Cherida).  Cherida is lovely and it was a real treat to have someone come to the house to pamper you!  The price was also very reasonable.  Caroline has left lots of maps and brochures in the study which inform you about local attractions.  We used one of the maps to do a long walk up and around Moel y Gamelin (near Llangollen).  The view from the top was great, but we did get a bit lost in the fields at the bottom of the hill, which caused a detour of about 1.5 hours!  We also visited Valle Crucis Abbey (on the way down from Moel y Gamelin) and took a trip on the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct which was pleasant. We had a walk around the Lake Vyrnwy Reservoir, which was nice, but would have been better if it had not been foggy and grey.  To be honest, I would have been happy not doing anything but cooking, reading a book or doing some colouring in in the house; getting out of the delightfully comfy bed was hard enough!

 

We so enjoyed our time at Rest on the Hill.  We didn’t want to leave and would love to return, particularly in the summer, when we can take advantage of the longer days and the stunning view!  Caroline has created a lovely place and is on hand in case you need anything at all.  We feel honoured to have spent a couple of days here and hope to be back again.

Thank you Caroline.

Very best wishes.

K & C

13th March ’16

Perfect! What a beautiful building and what a magnificent hill that it, and it’s occupiers, are able to ‘rest on’!

We’ve definitely has the R & R that we’ve needed (other than the walk we got lost on! NB take a map).

When can we come back?

“Lovers find secret places inside this violent world where they can make transactions with beauty” (Rumi)

S and K

5th March ’16

We’ve returned for our second visit. Now enjoyed Rest on the Hill in the winter and spring – that’s two more definite return visits for summer and autumn. Good recommendation from a couple who never go anywhere twice!

Thank you Caroline for the bubbly and cake

Best regards

G & S (Staffordshire)

26th February

To Caroline,

I stayed here for my 13th birthday and it was amazing! Thank you Amber and friends.

Mum – I stayed here for my birthday treat too. What a beautiful; contemporary, luxurious home. “Well done” to Caroline! Our every need was catered for. Thank you so very much.

A.A.& A.

20th February 2016

Thanks for a very enjoyable and all too brief stay. Great hospitality, amazing views and even a friend for the dog, what more could we ask for?

D.S.A. and dog

15th February 2016

Thank you for a wonderful place to spend a birthday plus Valentines. We will tell all our family and friends to visit such a fabulous place.

We shall return, 

R & G

7th February 2016

A big thank you for a fabulous stay, we are in total awe of your beautiful house and very inspired by the eco functions.

The views are just stunning. It’s the perfect retreat to relax in pure luxury. Thank you for your outstanding courtesy. We will highly recommend to family and friends.

A and M

5th November 2015

Well, what can we say the has not already been said, it has exceeded our expectations by far. WOW factor most definitely. The facilities truly luxurious. A real find that we will tell all our friends about and we will most definitely return with family.

Thank you so much for the cake and bubbles! Prefect for my birthday treat. Cannot wait to check diaries to see when we can return.

G & S

September 19th 2015

Thank you so much. What a week!

Rest on the hill is splendid, well equipped and a good introduction to a Grand Designs lifestyle. The view is wondrous – changing all the time and including a red moon and eclipse.

Great location for visiting so many places is England and Wales. One quick recommendation to others is Rhug Farm shop and restaurant.

D

September 1st 2015

We had such a relaxing chilled out few days in a wonderful place with rooms with an ever changing view. Caroline was the perfect host we really couldn’t ask for more. Hope to be back in the future.

G & S

28th August 2015

This stay for me was something truly special. I had been searching for the right venue to ask a very special question and when I found Rest on the Hill I knew I had found the right place.

I arrived with a girlfriend and I shall leave with a fiancé and I cannot thank you enough for everything that you have done to make this weekend perfect.

We will most definitely be returning!

P & C

18th August 2015

‘Rest on the Hill’. What a perfect description! Rest is exactly what we needed and it simply couldn’t be avoided here. The beauty, both at God’s and Man’s hands, the facilities and equipment and the accessibility all made life easy in the extreme. We kept saying ‘Wow’ from the moment we walked through the door and I have no doubt that would never change with the changing skies and colours of the valley.It has been a true privilege to stay. Caroline you’ve got this place so right. Looking forward to the next visit already.

P and J, Warrington

7th August 2015

We have enjoyed a wonderful relaxing enjoyable weekend in your beautiful house Rest on the Hill. The views here are simply amazing and we have enjoyed the changing sky and weather hour by hour. we look forward greatly to coming to stay again later in the year.

L and M, London

24th July 2015

Thank you for such a wonderful long weekend in your house. Of course the view, the house (especially being allowed to see the construction drawings) and the walks. It was fantastic to see the whole route from the house when we got back.

The weather was kind and our tour of Oswestry interesting.

A truly beautiful place to be in and to look out from.

The O family, Sheffield.

20th June 2015

What a wonderful house and position. We have had a wonderful weekend in a perfect building with the most wonderful views….even when misty.

Thank you for letting us share your home!

A and J, Derbyshire

15th June 2015

My daughter and I had such a lovely and relaxing time at your beautiful holiday home. The views are truly breath taking. The interior is set to an exceptionally high standard and our every need was catered for.

Thank you for being such a lovely host during out stay.

P and A, Chester and Dubai

12 June 2015

We have had a wonderful time. This is truly spectacular and such a gorgeous situation. Thank you for making it a special weekend and such a warm welcome.
We are coming again!

D and J, Sandbach

March 29, 2015

Dear Caroline, Thank you for being a wonderful host and for the opportunity to create lasting memories in such a fabulous space. It has been the most relaxing weekend break we’ve experienced in a while and we will certainly be back again. It goes without saying that the views are spectacular, but the high-spec internal features, furniture and attention to detail are also Wow!

Our time here has certainly felt like a retreat. Thank you and best of luck with the venture.

J and G, Chester

March 28th 2015

The house is absolutely wonderful and an outstanding home away from home. It has been more than we’d have expected – shower and bath both particularly superb and a masterpiece of architecture, interior and exterior. What an amazing place as well as fantastic views with ever changing skies above the stunning scenery.

We are sorry to leave – but we definitely will return.

Gerhard and family. Bavaria, Germany